My first batches of meads are done!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tropical Mead

Reaction score
Today I finished my Vikings Blood mead, Traditional and Cyser

• Vikings blood was 3 pounds of Members mark honey and 2lbs of sweet cherries and k1v-116 yeast. (1 Gallon )

• Traditional: 2.5lbs of local wildflower honey and D47 yeast ( 1 Gallon )

• Cyser 1- 1.5lbs of honey, Mott's apple juice, and k1v-116 yeast (Half a Gallon batch)

• Cyser 1 - 1.5lbs of honey Mott's apple juice, and k1v-116 yeast *This batch was step fed with dead baker's yeast (Half a Gallon batch)
I have never tried mead before I was pleasantly surprised with the taste of the Vikings blood mead and the Cyser that had no yeast nutrients added to it. The Vikings blood was the only one that fermented dry while the Cysers seemed to stall. One of them fermented more than the other. I am giving them some time to see if the gravity drops lower. The traditional I racked and bottled to smaller containers and back-sweetened in hopes of making it more palatable to me. Hoping to start a new 1 gallon batch soon. Would love some recommendations on recipes to try out. Would love some input from more seasoned mead makers as to how I could improve my recipes or any ideas would be welcome. I am trying to gift the meads I make around Christmas so any feedback is appreciated.

Today I finished my Vikings Blood mead, Traditional and Cyser

• Vikings blood was 3 pounds of Members mark honey and 2lbs of sweet cherries and k1v-116 yeast. (1 Gallon )

• Traditional: 2.5lbs of local wildflower honey and D47 yeast ( 1 Gallon )

• Cyser 1- 1.5lbs of honey, Mott's apple juice, and k1v-116 yeast (Half a Gallon batch)