Mr. Malty Pitching Rate, how big of a starter???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

fg12351

Reaction score
I'm getting ready to brew a 5 gallon extract kit of Belgian Ale (OG 1.060) and it came with 1 XL pack of Wyeast Belgian Ardens Liquid yeast. I've never used liquid yeast before and I am thinking I need to make a starter. I used Mr. Malty's pitching calculator and it tells me this:

# of Yeast Cells needed (in billions): 219
# packs needed without a starter: 2.3
# of packs needed with a starter: 1
# of liters of starter required: 2.43.

Now, does this mean I make a 2.43 liter starter (DME, boiled water) with my 1 pack of Wyeast liquid yeast??? I was planning on heading to the LBHS tonight to get a 2000ml erlenmeyer flask, some DME, an airlock, etc, but do I need something bigger or am I reading this wrong?

This is only my third batch. It will be 5 gallons and the Wyeast pack is 2 months old.

Thanks,

FG12351

You're reading it right.

Mr Malty says that if you have a single smack-pack, you need to make a 2.4 liter starter.

Having said that... according to Mr. Malty, I have under-pitched every single batch of beer that I have ever made, and my beers still come out just fine.

So... don't get too hung up on it.

Since you said the calculator says 219 billion cells required I'm assuming you are putting 5.25 gal in the batch size block, is that right?

You need to check the box that says 'Calculate viability by date' and then enter the date the yeast was made in the date block (I chose 12/16/2010 since you said it was 2 months old).