Mix vs. Grain

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

messler

Reaction score
I'm pretty new to brewing. I just made my first batch from a Morgan's Amber Ale kit. I know people here say not to, but I followed the instructions on the can because thats what the guy at the brew store said to do. I just have a few questions.
First- I used corn sugar cause the store guy said to. What would be the difference if I used malt for my next batch (which would be a pilsner). Will it make a vast improvement?

Second- I have gathered from reading things here that most people think using all grain or a mix of malt extract and grain is the best way to go instead of using the syrup mix stuff. I have no fear of complex recipes, but I also live in an apartment and i'm worried that if I boiled grain it might stink up my floor. Is this true, and if so, am I best to just stick with mixes?

First- I used corn sugar cause the store guy said to. What would be the difference if I used malt for my next batch (which would be a pilsner). Will it make a vast improvement?

Are you talking about at bottling or as part of the recipe?

I have no fear of complex recipes, but I also live in an apartment and i'm worried that if I boiled grain it might stink up my floor. Is this true, and if so, am I best to just stick with mixes?

Steeping grains will make you place smell like you're baking bread. It can be a bit strong for a couple hours but it's a pleasant smell and disipates rather quickly. Go ahead and give it a go.

Oh, and welcome to the obsession.

:mug:

welcome for sure.

Look in our recipe section. There are plenty of great extract recipes there,,,,and they are almost always better than the kits in store...and definitely better than the can + sugar kit that you have.