Mead Brewing for Senior Thesis

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vekzero

Reaction score
So I recently got into the hobby of home brewing & so far I like. I am currently about to begin the prep work for my senior thesis. Every other year some one does a beer company. But I feel like being different & brewing my own mead.

My question is the time it take for fermenting and aging. If I begin fermenting within the next month will it be ready and aged well enough to drink before May? I know it seems like a long time but like I said I am new to home brewing so any tips on beginning a good batch of mead let me know.

thanks for the help

it would be on the short side aging wise. dry meads seem to peak after a year from the experiments i've seen. if back sweetening for a sweeter mead i couldn't comment because i've never done it and friends of mine haven't either.

If you brewed it within a month and managed the fermentation well, yes, May is a very reasonable goal to have a drinkable mead (aging longer will improve it, but it will be plenty drinkable within that time period).

Brewing a berry melomel (melomel is a fruit mead) is a good way to have a tasty mead fast. Melomels taste good quick (again, tho, it will still improve w age) and clears fast without having to use clearing agents.

Lalvin K1V is a great versatile yeast that tolerates less-than-deal conditions; rehydrate as per the instructions on the packet. Add two pounds of honey and two pounds of berries per gallon of mead. Freeze the berries and then thaw and mash before brewing w it (freezing breaks the cell walls and makes more of the sugar accessible to the yeast). Buy yeast nutrients and add double the recommended amount (the dosage is usually for grape wines which have more innate nutrients).