Material of Construction - Brewing Kettle

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jcfontario

Reaction score
I have been doing home brews for 3 years and am looking to up my game. I currently do my wort boils in 2 stock pots that are about 10 L each. I am looking to get 40 to 50 L pot - either a stock pot or a turkey fryer. Any recommendations whether I should get stainless steel or aluminium?

I’ve used both with no real preference. Stainless is nice and shiny. Aluminum is lighter and dents easier. I currently use a 20gallon stainless kettle but started with an aluminum turkey fryer. Both make decent beer.

You should let us know how you heat. Gas stove, electric stove, propane burner?

If you have 240V nearby you might even consider an electric option up to and including an all-in-one.

You should let us know how you heat. Gas stove, electric stove, propane burner?

If you have 240V nearby you might even consider an electric option up to and including an all-in-one.
Heating with an electric stove, although if I got a turkey fryer it would be a propane burner. A 240 V all in one would be nice, but it would be a challenge to run the wiring to somewhere appropriate.

Heating with an electric stove, although if I got a turkey fryer it would be a propane burner. A 240 V all in one would be nice, but it would be a challenge to run the wiring to somewhere appropriate.
Induction or coil? If coil, you might go aluminum as it's way more (10 - 20 times) more thermally conductive than stainless steel. So much so that you will want to turn off the element at times i.e. if you ever use any liquid extract in your brew. If induction, you'll need to be sure something will pick that up and get hot. I'm less familiar with that but I'm sure it could be searched easily enough.