Loss of wine due to racking

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The forager

Reaction score
I’m new to wine making and will soon be racking a wine from the secondary fermentation. So demijohn to a new demijohn.

I’m wondering about losing wine due to leaving the sediment in the former Demi. Do I need to top the new racked wine up with water to reduce oxygenation in the new Demi?

It is a good idea to top off, though I have never run into wine going bad if there is just a little extra headspace after racking. Depending on the wine you are making you could always top off with some store bought wine of the same style. You could add boiled water, but that will dilute your wine. When I make wine I try to make a little extra for topping off purposes. After primary I rack the bulk of my wine into a smaller fermenter and put the excess in a wine or beer bottle and place an airlock on it. That way I have extra topping off wine when it is time to rack. Good luck!

That’s a good idea to store the excess. I think I may use that method in future. Hate losing any of it after all the waiting.

Plus, who wants to water down their wine?? Keep an extra few bottles with bottle sized plug/airlock for backfilling.

I’ve just bottled some as an extra today. I don’t have an airlock for a wine bottle. Can I just leave the lid loosely tightened to avoid an explosion?

I’ve just bottled some as an extra today. I don’t have an airlock for a wine bottle. Can I just leave the lid loosely tightened to avoid an explosion?
Maybe use plastic wrap with a rubber band to secure it? Is it still actively fermenting?

Ok I’ll do that. I’ll also try find some wine bottle airlocks for my future batches.