Long Term Mead Preparations

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maxtro

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I have a mead project coming up that I'm super excited about. I've been home brewing for about 2 years now, mainly mead, beer and soda so I'm by no means an expert and I'm open to any advise and tips before I get this going. Here it is.

My wife and I are expecting our first child, a boy, in December 2016. I'm working on putting together a mead recipe that I'll brew the day we bring our new son home from the hospital (or as soon as possible after). The plan is to age the mead for 21 years and open it to celebrate my son's 21st birthday.

Due to the fact that I'm in the military and have a high chance of moving across the country/world at least 2-3 more times in the next 7-8 years, I've pretty much ruled out doing a 5 gallon batch, therefore I've acquired five 750ml stoneware bottles (much thanks to Viking Blod for those) that I plan to use once the mead has reached the bottle aging phase as the mead will have to travel with us, which will be corked with nomacorc style corks and top sealed with wax. If we end up traveling somewhere that the mead cannot go with, it will likely be left at a family member's house in climate controlled storage.

Another consideration is that I have no idea what/if any fruit allergies my son might have or develope by the time he's 21 so I've decided this mead recipe will consist of only honey and herbs. Plus, I'm not sure if there are any negative effects to aging mead that contains fresh fruit juice for 21 years.