Late Start in Texas

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have been rebuilding a house for 3 years and all this time we have talked about putting up some shade vines on the south-side wall. This year on a whim while talking to SWMBO I mentioned the hop vines we saw in Oregon. She knew I had wanted to grow some and we decided a little haphazardly to buy 4 varietals and put them in some boxes on the side of the house.

The problem was that it was already April when we made the decision. I bought Crystal, Perle, Cascade and Sterling rhizomes for no particular reason other than I liked some of them. I have two of each in a box that is 2.5'x1'x12". We installed a drip irrigation system on each rhizome and added an 8' trellis frame that has one string on front and one on back in a zig-zag pattern that gives about 30' of line per plant. While they look like they cross they actually don't touch each other. To gain her approval I made the crossbeam into an "asian"-like pattern and it came out well I think.

The biggest problem is that I only got them into the ground two weeks ago so it was late April. I hope they will do well, they had some green shoots when I was moving the irrigation lines around this week and unearthed a few of them. I know the sun is sweltering so I have the timer set to give some water during the heat of the day and I am hoping they survive. I don't anticipate a harvest this year, but if they provide some green shade for the house it will be worth it to get a crop next year.

20140504_165942.jpg

Never water any plants during the heat of day. If your worried about dried out soils during the day water in morning.