Last year I made this blueberry light beer. What would you do differently?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

badducky

Reaction score
Last year I made a very light, crisp, summery, session-strength blueberry beer for the Georgia heat that's about as foolproof and simple as could be. I'm thinking of brewing it again for my sister when I visit her in Texas, but I wondered if anyone has any thoughts about improving this recipe.

I loved it last year, even though, as a beginner, I messed up the bottling phase with too little carbonation. It wasn't a "beer drinker's beer" in that it was definitely a light beer, but all those blueberries fermented in the primary really dominated the flavor, kicked up the alcohol, and without a lot of malt and hops to push against them, really shone through with a clean, crisp flavor.

So, I'm planning on brewing this again at my sister's house in a couple weeks, because I can make it all the way to bottling before I leave, and leave her a lot of light, fruity beer to drink in the Texas heat. Also, because the size of the boil is so small, I can use her kitchen pots.

Before I do that, if I do that, what changes do you more experienced folks recommend I make to improve the recipe from last year? Anything I can do to improve the "malten" core without overpowering the blueberries? (Note: this is supposed to be a Light Blueberry Beer, and I don't want to make it too hot, or give it too many calories by upping to 6 pounds extract and 10 pounds blueberries!)

Light Blueberry Beer
5 gallons
5.5 ABV
181 Calories per 12 oz
OG 1.055
FG 1.014

Ingredients:
5 gallons of Spring Water
5 pound bag of frozen blueberries
3 pound bag of Bavarian Wheat Dry Malt Extract
1 ounce of French Strisselspalt Hops
1/2 teaspoon Pectic Enzyme