Kettle size needed for 2.5 gallon batches, mostly IPA's

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

El Nino

Reaction score
Well I'm a newbie at this still, have only done one extract kit, but enjoyed it enough to already want to go all-grain. I don't have the room for a huge setup, and I'm mostly making the beer for myself and occasionally sharing with a few friends, and the GF doesn't drink beer. So I was thinking anything over 2.5 gallon batches would be overkill.

So my first attempt at a BiAB recipe, I figured why not start with my favorite beer (Deschutes Fresh Squeezed - https://www.brewersfriend.com/homebrew/recipe/view/360082/deschutes-fresh-squeezed-ipa-clone). Looks to be for a 2.5 gallon batch, the grain bill would be 6.75 lbs. My current kettle is about 11" wide (if that helps for calculating boilover) and has a capacity of 5 gallons.

Would the 5 gallon kettle be big enough for the batch size + grain bill? I would prefer to not have to add water later (the purpose of BiAB is less steps, right?). If I'm mostly interested in brewing beers at this OG (around 1.070), do I have up upgrade to a 6 or 7 gal? There's also a kettle I may consider buying if the extra half gallon would make a difference (5.5 kettle from SS brewtech).

I'm trying to keep my equipment as small as possible, I live in a 2 bedroom apartment so I'm adamant on sticking to a smaller scale non-propane setup.

Last edited:
Yes that’s big enough. You might need to sparge or top up to add volume depending on your exact volumes.

Ok thanks! I even found something here that shows how to permanently mark the kettle for gallon measurements. I could save myself $120 by not buying the SS brewtech :)