Is this a Porter or a Stout?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Soazmedic

Reaction score
Hello all! New member here and I am loving all of the information! I am new to home brewing and jumped right into all grain. Like most, I was excited to start brewing and went to my local brew shop and tasted a bunch of grain and with the help of the staff at the shop, I came up with a recipe. Porters are my favorite and I was really excited to make my own. I have learned that I should probably brew a good amount of prebuilt kits before I dive too much into experimentation. However, I have brewed this batch and it is now on day 7 of fermentation. I have been searching and reading posts and I need help understanding if I have created a porter or a stout (sweet stout more specifically). Based on the numbers and descriptions, I am in both categories or at least very close to each category. Can you all take a look at my recipe and offer your opinions and critiques? Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

5 gallon batch

Grain-
8.0lbs Maris Otter
0.5lbs Roasted Barley
0.5lbs Black Patent
0.5lbs Crystal 90
0.5lbs Light Munich
0.25lbs Chocolate

Hops-
East Kent Golding 1.0oz @60min

Yeast-
WLP004 Irish Ale pitched (yeast starter) at 70 degrees and fermenting currently at 67degrees

I mashed at 154 degrees for an hour and fly sparged at 168 for 30min. I had a preboil volume of 6.25 gallons and began fermentation with 5 gallons with no extra water added.

Per my app, the numbers are as follows.

OG(target/actual)- 1.052 / 1.055
FG (target/actual)- 1.014 / not obtained yet
SRM- 32
IBU- 19
A.B.V. (predicted)- 5.2%

I tasted the wort prior to yeast pitch and it was very flavorful. Lightly sweet with subtle chocolate and coffee notes.