IPA Turning Brown in Fermenter—Oxygenation? Contamination?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Spacelover02

Reaction score
I'm relatively new to homebrewing (been home-brewing for over a year now but usually with a group), and just did my first all-grain solo brew a week and a half ago. The beer is meant to be a 3 gallon rosemary and coriander IPA (mainly 2 row grain). It's been in the carboy for a week and a half now (still bubbling on occasion). A day ago, unfortunately, I discovered that the relatively light (though still darker than I expected) amber color had turned quite dark. I'm including two photos for reference, the first taken day one, the second, today, a week and a half into fermentation. The color seemed to change quite quickly, over a day. Unfortunately there's a lot of airspace because this is a smaller brew, but I've never had a problem with this before. I wondered in the beginning if the bung had too loose a fit—there was still a seal, but it seemed barely a seal to me. I did have trouble in the beginning cooling it (no wort chiller unfortunately, so I used snow from the recent snowstorm, but it took an hour and a half). So I'm half-wondering about bacterial contamination as well.

I've kind of given up on it, assuming the beer's been oxygenated and the flavor's ruined. Does that seem like the likeliest explanation? Is it possibly bacterials? Any hope?

Attachments

• IMG_0664.jpg
    IMG_0664.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 120
  • IMG_0721.jpg
    IMG_0721.jpg
    1 MB · Views: 118
Its hard to really tell how dark it is in the fv. Plus lighting in the house . I do think you need a smaller fv so there's not so much headspace.