Insulation as opposed to more wattage...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lazarwolf

Reaction score
Someone with real knowledge of this topic please respond. We just got 3 of the cajun injector electric turkey cookers for darn cheap, so were converting at least 2 of them for E BIAB set ups.

As a general contractor I can tell you about the importance of insulation. I even use ceramic insulation occasionally for hot pipes and tanks, so it got me to thinking... 1650 watts should be more than adequate to boil 7 gallons if Im not losing so much heat. Why not insulate between the outside of the turkey fryer and the kettle with perlite and refractory cement. In a 3 or 4 to one ratio.

Does anyone with knowledge of insulation see any issue with this? I know a 5/1 ratio could withstand temps above 2000F with out burning or turning brittle.

I own one of these, brewed a little with it, added a heatstick to reach boil...at 1650w they are under powered to boil a 5 gallon batch, but will do it with the lid on, then you can crack the lid to boil but it will take a long long time.

I have read of people having success insulating b/w the kettle liner and outer jacket as well. One fellow modded his for one pot to hold 2 elements from two fryers.

I now use mine to steam hot dogs at large parties....

I can maintain a boil with about 2000w and no insulation. Not sure if I'd want to try and get to the boil with that power output. I have heard many people using reflectix as insulation. Since your pot will never see temps beyond boiling (105C, 220F - being generous for increased boil temp based on sugar content and altitude possibilities) there is little need to go with 2000 degree insulation.