Importance of Exact Temperatures?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave77

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I have a yeast for a cream ale that says it should be fermented in the 13-16C range. I don't have a fridge for tempertautre control, but my cellar is consitently 17C. Will the extra degree matter that much? Or, is it an absolute no-no to stray from manufacturer recommended temperture ranges?

I'm still a relative newbie at this, so your thoughts are appreciated!

You will still make beer, but you may get more esters than the yeast produces in its optimal range.

Also, fermentation is exothermic (generates heat) so fermenting wort is usually a few degrees warmer than the surrounding air temp. This will put you even further out of the optimal temp range.

You could look at a swamp cooler. A tub that will hold your fermenter plus several gallons of water. You can put frozen bottles of water in the tub to help keep it cool, and covering with a wet towel can also help. It will take some learning to know how much ice to use and how often to change it.

Brew on :mug:

Hi Dave, good to see you! When you mention 'cellar', I'm thinking Canadian, Toronto-area basement.. Here in Windsor, the ground-temp is such that in what I call my 68° basement, the temp right at the cement is actually lower...usually 62°-64° on the hottest days of summer. I'm not sure what kind of fermenter you're using, but if it's relatively flat-bottomed like a bucket, carboy, or Fermonster, Cream-Ale ferments just fine sitting on my floor.