Ideas for a brewday voice assistant?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pepindavid

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I started playing around building voice assistants (that can be invoked through Google Home or Alexa, for example).

Just for fun, I may try to build an assistant you can summon with your voice (while brewing, or bottling, for example), to get some answer "hands-free".

The first step is to determine what things brewers may want to ask a voice assistant. From what I've seen so far, it needs to be relatively short, and relatively straightforward. Here's my list of potential "tasks" so far:

• Temperature conversion (C and F)
  • Volume conversion (gallons and L)
  • Weight conversion (g, kg, oz, lbs)
  • Gravity conversion (Plato, SG, Brix)
  • Dilution (how much water do you need to add to get to a specific gravity)
  • Adding DME or sugar to attain a specific gravity
  • Calculate ABV
  • Calculate relative bitterness (with or without taking into account attenuation)
  • Yeast cell count needed
  • Sugar needed for carbonation level
Is there anything else you can think of that you may want to get an answer for without having to whip out your phone or your laptop?

I'm not sure if this will really eventually become something available at large (and if it would event be useful). The goal for me is more to keep learning on conversational design - but it may eventually work!

Any insight on how homebrewers could use an interactive voice assistant could be useful.

Thanks!

Have you tried those with an assistant? I would bet you will get from Alexa: "Hmmm, I don't know that one." for a lot of those.

Have you tried those with an assistant? I would bet you will get from Alexa: "Hmmm, I don't know that one." for a lot of those.