Hydrometer vs Refractomer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rnobrew

Reaction score
I am new to home brewing and have two batches under my belt and have yet to use the hydrometer that came with my starter kit. I really want to use it however it almost seems like a waste when you don't return it to the wert. I probably wouldn't mind taking a reading prior to pitching the yeast, but taking multiple samples to tell is fermentation has completed bothers me for some reason. Wouldn't exposing my beer many times by removing the lid to my ale pail put my beer at risk for contamination?

I looked into a refractometer that accomplishes the same task, but uses a smaller sample size. Does anyone use a refractometer to take readings of their beer during fermentation? If so is it worth the extra cost? Or should I just accept the fact I'll lose a few beers using the cheaper hydrometer and brew more?

Once fermentation starts, a refrac doesn't give accurate readings b/c of the alcohol in the beer (I could be wrong, but that is how I recall hearing it.)

When I did extract batches, I never checked my gravity, pre or post fermentation. I just pitched and waited ten days to two weeks, and bottled then.

If you are doing all grain, SG readings are helpful for a number of things, one being knowing efficiency. If fermentation has started, you shouldn't worry about infection, as there is a layer of CO2 between the wort and air. Just remember, sanitation, sanitation, sanitation.