HUGE difference btwn refractometer and hydrometer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

OrthoBrewer

Reaction score
Hello, I know there have been many other posts on this topic on these and other forums. I know that many people have explained the difference in measurement of specific gravity between the two tools. I could not find anything in a forum about such a big difference between measurements as I am seeing.

Recently brewed up Hop Scare from Midwest supplies, extract kit. I measured OG with both hydro and refracto when wort was at 75 deg F before pitching. Hydro read 1.061, refracto read 1.066 (unfortunately, I don't have the brix measurement from the OG). I have used a hydrometer since I started brewing, this was first time using refracto. Beer fermented at 72 deg F, but never had a great krausen or bubbling airlock. Got busy with work, and beer sat for 4 weeks. Took a refracto reading, and it read Brix 7.1, SG 1.033. Raised the temp to 75 deg F, stirred yeast cake gently with sterile spoon, let sit another week. Took refracto again, Brix 7.1, SG 1.033. At this point, I thought I had a stuck fermentation. So, I got another packet of yeast, made a yeast starter, and pitched it. No fermentation noticeable. Took refracto reading again a week later, Brix 7.1, SG 1.033. This got me nervous, so I took a hydro reading just now, and it reads as 1.010. Refracto reading at same time says Brix 7.1, SG 1.033. All instruments, fluids, beer were at 72 deg F. Before every measurement, I calibrated with distilled water. Hydro reads exactly 1.000, refracto always read 1.001, never adjusted it.