How much wood for NON-electric smoker?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewddah

Reaction score
Perhaps this is a dumb question, but I am getting a wide range of answers on this through google, and I have no experience here. My dad just built his own smoker attachment for his bbq, and I wanted to get him some good quality wood chunks and a pork shoulder (and of course some homebrew!) for Christmas. It seems like every recipe I find is for an electric smoker, which this is not. However, an 8 hour cook time for an 8# pork shoulder seems rather consistent across recipes. How much wood do I need to get for that cook time?

A picture of the smoke attachment would help to determine amount/size of wood to use. I have the large Camp Chef propane smoker. I use a single piece of hickory at a time weighing about two ounces. Less than 3" × 3 ' × 3". Different forms of wood for smoke is available. Sawdust,, chips, shreds, chunks and logs depending on the size of the smoke producing box.

I started smoking ribs in my propane grill. Tried the saw dust. It burned way to fast. Even just flamed instead of smoke.

Smoking meat is my other hobby take a picture. The next step up from electric is using charcoal as a heat source and adding wood chunks for smoke. The ultimate way is stick burning where you only burn wood for heat and flavor. The key is good combustion and thin blue smoke chocking the fire leads too ugly thick white smoke and bitter meat

The smoker box is about 1'x1'x2'. It's attached to a wood fired grill. I'll try to send a picture tomorrow.