How long to leave cider in secondary fermentation?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bensira

Reaction score
Hi there

I'm new to home brewing, and I've found this forum to be a great source of info. I'm working on my first home brewed cider and I have two batches on the go. I'd love some advice about timescales for secondary fermentation.

Batch 1:
About four litres of apple juice, which I juiced myself from Pink Lady and Braeburn apples. I didn't treat it with campden or pasteurise it. I left it to sit for a night before adding baking yeast* :( I left it in primary for ten days, took an SG reading of 0.994 and racked it off to secondary. Alcohol is probably about 6%. However, I forgot to take an initial SG reading. It was likely in the region of 1.040, as this is the reading I took on my second batch of apple juice.

In order to leave as little head space as possible and prevent oxidisation during secondary, I topped it up with water and sugar solution. It doesn't look as though the sugar has caused much fermentation in the secondary container - the airlock doesn't appear to be bubbling.

How long should I leave it in secondary? How do I determine the length of secondary - SG readings etc? Thanks

*nothing else was available at the time, I'm using Nottingham in my second batch