How increase wort to 5 gallon?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ThePrisoner

Reaction score
I've only really brewed cider before.
Wanted to try a beer but I don't have a cooking pot big enough to cook up 5 gallons.
Can you boil up a concentrated wort on the stove somehow and then just top up the carbuoy with water?

Yes. When I started brewing beer I first used the Cooper's kits which instructed you to do exactly that; approx. 1/3 boiled and the rest as plain sanitary 'top-up' water in the carboy. Although a full-boil, and better still; all-grain tastes 'better', the result was still far superior to the cheap mainstream brews available in the stores.

PS: I love your username...I'm a fan of the 60's TV show of the same name and find myself wondering why you haven't used this for your avatar:
Pennyfarthing-badge-the-prisoner-26758066-816-804.jpg

An alternative (to consider) is brew a smaller batch size that works well for the size of your kettle. If you like this idea, let us know the size of your kettle and someone (not me, I'm not good at this specific estimate) can help determine a good full-volume boil batch size for your kettle.

With malt extract (DME/LME) recipes, there is the concept of a partial boil (generally 1/2 the water / extract at the start of the boil) with late additions of the extract (often at 15 min before the end of the boil) and water (often added to the fermenter before the rest of the chilled wort). With partial boils, there are numerous variations on the amounts and times to add ingredients.