Hopping a NEIPA with Citra/Mosaic/Nectaron

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

RyPA

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm prepping to brew a 6 gallon batch of a 5.5-6.0 abv NEIPA and am looking for advice on my hop schedule.

It's my first time using Nectaron and am hoping to not muddy it too much with the Citra and Mosaic. Should I drop the Citra or Mosaic entirely, or will the slightly higher use of Nectaron allow it to make its presence known?

0.25oz - Columbus lupomax - FWH
1oz : 1oz : 2oz - Citra/Mosaic/Nectaron @ 170F WP
1oz : 1oz : 2oz - Citra/Mosaic/Nectaron DH

I also have the below on hand if anyone has suggestions on a combo to try:
Amarillo
Galaxy
Simcoe
Centennial
El Dorado
Vic Secret

Thanks

I found my first Nectaron™ dry hop (with Imperial Mangosteeni yeast and quite warm fermentation) to be quite subtle and easily overwhelmed by the bitterness from boil and/or whirlpool hops. To best showcase the Nectaron™ I'd keep it simple and minimize all other hopping.

Nectaron with Citra and Mosaic appears to be a complementary combination...

1691702264759.png

Cheers!

I've used a couple of pounds of Mosaic pellets each year of brewing neipas over the last ~four years. I've read that some have gotten a diesel fuel character out of Mosaic, but best as I can recall I never have, and I have two beers on tap right now brewed with Mosaic and neither of them show that character. I've also read that it is a terroir thing so likely highly variable. I may just be lucky.