Honey IPA Recipe Question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

achanez

Reaction score
Hi all!

A friend and I started brewing not too long ago and after following a few recipes and reading through the John Palmer book, we decided to venture into making our own recipe. There were a couple issues we ran into along the way during brewing that need not be discussed, but anyway, the beer came out with 0 flavor. Our first recipe and our first pour out batch :(

Anyway, I think I know what could have gone wrong but we really want to rebrew it after correcting our mistakes. First, I want to check-in here to see if there is anything obviously stupid about the recipe or if the mistakes we made in the brewing process really were the cause of such a terrible beer. Here it is:

Yeast:
London Ale or White Labs WLP001

Fermentables Qty

Cara-Pils (crushed) 4 oz
Honey Malt (Crushed) 8 oz
Wild Flower Honey 3 lbs
Pale Malt (LME) 3.3 lbs
Amber Malt (DME) 1.0 lbs
Golden Light (DME) 1.5 lbs

Target OG: ~1.069

Hops
Qty(oz) Time

Galena 1.3 60min

Cascade 1.0 30min

Amarillo 0.5 30min

Cascade 0.5 15min

Amarillo 1.0 15min

Fuggle 1.0 Dry
Cascade 0.5 Dry

Thanks and :mug:

Last edited:
Some comments:

- The extract already has carapils, no reason to add it, and it may not add anything to the beer since you are just steeping. Don't waste your money on it. I think I would add 8 ozs of C40 or C60 instead.

- 8 ozs is a lot of honeymalt in my opinion. Certainly do not go greater than 8 ozs. It will not add any fermentables since you are just steeping.