Honey Freshness???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

XPLSV

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been brewing for 6 years now...winemaking, too. Recently decided to try some hard cider and mead. I've got a couple batches of cider underway from the fall harvest and have been doing some reading on mead. I have Schramm's book and have been reading a bunch on the web, too. There is obviously a large variance in the price of honey out there and I have found myself gravitating towards doing a full 5 or 6 gallon batch with high quality honey for the first batch. I've read a lot of comments regarding using the "freshest" honey available. Right now, my interest is being peaked by Tupelo and Orange Blossom honeys. I read the Tupelo blooms come out in the springtime and thus I assume the freshest Tupelo honey would be bought around the May timeframe. Indeed, some of the supplies of Tupelo are sold out for the season. Here's my question: am I going to sell myself short on the starting quality for Tupelo if I buy it now, in November...or should I table this project until Spring when the next Tupelo harvest occurs?

I've never heard that honey freshness is an issue. Have been researching and making mead for 2 years.

Honey has no true shelf life. Allegedly, honey found in the pyramids was still edible. There is not enough moisture in honey for it to spoil.

The only thing that occasionally happens is crystallization, warming the honey up returns it to pure liquid state (don't get it over - seem to remember from somewhere) 110 degrees