Higher FG than expected...several things tried but I feel like I'm missing something more obvious here.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jordo_99

Reaction score
I've been using a propane kettle and cooler setup for the past 6 years but recently bought and fixed a Brewie B20 for it's automated brewing features.

I wanted to get the Brewie for it's multi-step mashing capabilities and all three brewdays have gone relatively smoothly as I'm hitting my volumes and my SG/OG numbers seem fine as well but my fermentation keeps stalling out around 1.023 on all three brews despite changing my mash each time to try and get a lighter body beer.

I've done the following beers and mash profiles...all 3 beers ended up at 1.023 or 1.024!

5gal Cream Ale (spotted cow clone)
OG -- 1.046 (Est. 1.047)​
FG -- 1.024 (Est. 1.011)
104F -- 30 min​
122F -- 30 min​
146F -- 30 min​
158F -- 30 min​
168F -- (60 min sparge)​
I just assumed my Kolsh wyeast packet was a dud and stalled out...Since it tasted fine, I just kegged and didn't bother trying to re-pitch more yeast or do an amaylze conver.

2.5gal Amber Ale
OG -- 1.047 (Est. 1.050)​
FG -- 1.024 (Est. 1.014)
104F -- 30 min​
122F -- 30 min​
146F -- 45 min​
158F -- 15 min​
168F -- (60 min sparge)​

For the amber ale, I got to thinking more about my mash schedule decided to increase the beta rest just in case there was something I'd overlooked but it ended up doing the exact same thing using S-04 yeast. I was still going for a balanced body but wanted to see what would happen here.

2.5gal Amber Ale
OG -- 1.047 (Est. 1.050)​
FG -- 1.023 (Est. 1.014)
153F -- 60 min​
168F -- (60 min sparge)​