High OG in relation to grist coarseness

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Johnny_Ds

Reaction score
A have a couple of questions. I'm going to try to be thorough in my descriptions and variables so this might be longer than normal.

I've been brewing for two years. This past summer, after getting all my gear bought and set up, I went to AG brewing. My first two brews were from pre-ground kits. My last two have been from recipes where I ground the grain myself. My grind was significantly finer than the grind I got from the kits. I can't remember the exact roller spacing, but it's he first mark (of the three) on the Cereal Killer mill. The finest setting. I know this isn't what I've seen recommended on this forum and elsewhere, but I really liked the grind I was seeing... it had good endosperm reveal, but didn't look like flour either.

The first recipe I did (with my own grind) last month was a Helles, yesterday I did an Oatmeal Stout.

My recipe stated that my preboil SG should be 1.047, my OG should be 1.055.

My grain bill for the stout was 25.8 lbs for a 10 gallon batch. The calculator I used said I would need 9 gallons of water for the mash. The mash temp was 154F. The recipe suggested I mash for 90 minutes to fully convert the oatmeal. At the 90 minute mark my iodine test showed incomplete conversion. I also noted that the mash had completely soaked up my mash water so I added an additional gallon of 160F water. I gave a gentle stir and waited 25 mins and the conversion test showed positive so I began vorlaf via recirc.