Help with Mt. Hood hops

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

timo944

Reaction score
All, this is my first post. New to brewing but I am an expert drinker.

A friend sent me a package of 1 oz of mt hood hops grown in his back yard near mt hood. After drying he packaged them and froze them for about a week, then mailed to me. I received them and immediately popped the freezer, about 2-3 weeks ago.

I've done some reading and these seem best suited to a lager. This being my 3rd batch I figured I'd use a recipe from How to Brew for Vienna Lager, and sub the mt hood hops for the last addition of Liberty that is called for.

Questions I have:
1. How long can the hops be stored in the freezer (and is this the right place?)
2. Should these be put in a boiling bag before putting them in the wort (with 10 mins to go?)
3. Is there a better way to use these hops? For example dry hopping?
4. My other problem is fermentation - I have a basement but it's not exactly cool - maybe 65F. Is that too warm? I can maybe find a cooler spot on concrete or wait fornwinter to set in (I'm in atlanta).

Thanks - Tim

All, this is my first post. New to brewing but I am an expert drinker.

A friend sent me a package of 1 oz of mt hood hops grown in his back yard near mt hood. After drying he packaged them and froze them for about a week, then mailed to me. I received them and immediately popped the freezer, about 2-3 weeks ago.

I've done some reading and these seem best suited to a lager. This being my 3rd batch I figured I'd use a recipe from How to Brew for Vienna Lager, and sub the mt hood hops for the last addition of Liberty that is called for.

Questions I have:
1. How long can the hops be stored in the freezer (and is this the right place?)