Help with Best Bitter recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sachibachi

Reaction score
Hi,

I want to brew an English bitter and am trying to design a recipe based on the limited ingredients I have available. I am fairly new to brewing so I may be way off the mark which is why I would love some feedback/suggestions. I'm looking for something on the higher malt scale with a bit of body, but not too much as I would like it to be an easily drinkable one, and with nice, but not overpowering, hop aroma in the finish. This is what I have so far:

Grain:
6.6lb amber liquid extract 91.7%
8oz munich malt 7%
1.6oz chocolate malt 1.4%

Hops:
60min: 1.25 Northern Brewer 8.5%aa
15min: 0.75 Fuggles 4.5%aa
5min: 0.5 Fuggles 4.5%aa
Flameout: 1oz East Kent Golding 5%aa

Safale S-04

Beersmith gives me the following numbers:
ABV 4.4% (OG: 1.046)
IBU: 37.2
Color: 13.6

I'm stuck with amber liquid extract unfortunately as that's all I have. It is from Brupaks which I think is similar to Munton's but I have no idea what its composition is. I also have some crystal malt but was thinking that the amber extract is probably already taking care of that so shouldn't add any more?

I also have some flaked oats; but not sure these would fit this recipe.

I have never used fuggles before so would be interested to hear what you think of the hop additions. I've seen one recipe online that uses EKG at 15min and Fuggles for dry hoping. Should I swap round the EKG and Fuggle additions in mine?

Thanks

You need to mash the Munich. Fuggles is nice: Earthy and spicy. EKG is more floral with that typical subtle orange flavour. I'd consider only amber LME and the oz of Chocolate malt. Doesn't amber already have crystal malt in it?