Hello Home Brew Talk!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zgreens

Reaction score
Hi guys and gals! I am a looong time lurker who has decided that it is time to participate. My name is Zach, and I live in western Mass. I have a degree in Cell and Molecular Biology, so I'm a huge nerd when it comes to those crazy little beasties that we all love. I am currently working for a biotech company specializing in Bioreactors (the baddest a$$ fermenters you'll ever see), so I am learning a lot about PID control, Equipment, and fermentation from them.

A little brewing background:
I started brewing 7 years ago, with one of those 5 gallon extract jobs that you find everywhere. Not to get high and mighty on anyone, but that felt a bit like making a grilled cheese and calling yourself a cook. Don't get me wrong, grilled cheese is tasty.
About 2 years after that, I move to 5 gallon all grain in a cooler. 3 years later, 10 gallon batches in homemade keggles on turkey fryers. I started making the mistake of giving away brew, thinking I had too much to drink. Couldn't keep up with the demand haha.
After parting ways with SWMBO, I decided to jump in head first, and pulled the trigger on what will either be my biggest time sink to date, or my best success (fingers crossed).

New equipment:
3x 25 gallon kettles, set up for HERMS, with a 50' steel coil as HEX, installed through the side of the HLT (weldless, may decide to weld)

A brand new brew stand! I bought one, and am having it shipped. I know, not very DIY, but I can't afford to start welding as a hobby! 3x 210k btu banjo style burners (bg14). On board power recepticles, pump mounts, etc

2x chugger pumps

Tower of power control module to control HLT on input from the HEX out

A 27 gallon conical (triclamps)