Hello from East Islip, NY

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bmooney33

Reaction score
hey there everyone.
first off i've gotta say, this site is an awesome resource for pretty much everything homebrew! the DIY suggestions are top notch, and the information stream is seemingly endless. i love it!
so, a bit about myself... i've been brewing for only a couple months now, mostly with a buddy of mine, a fellow novice who has a degree in mechanical engineering, so i tend to let him do most of the calculations.
so far in this little time, i've done 4 brews.
1- Honey amber extract kit with another buddy of mine. this was my intro day to brewing, and i had no clue about ANYTHING nevermind the fact that we should have a hydrometer or strain the wert, or well.... no idea about anything really.... i wasn't there for the bottling process or any of that, so i honestly have no clue what took place during my time away from the brew
-a brief back story to this first brew.... my buddy and i both have pregnant wives, due within a week of each other (in Feb.) so we thought it would be cool to each brew a batch of beer, and i'd make up labels to go on the bottles with the babys' names and our family crests, or something cool like that.... so yea... that's pretty much why i started brewing, now i'm hooked!

2- partial mash american IPA extract kit-this went much smoother got the directions online, and just followed them step by step. had an OG of .050, and it was in the primary a little over a week, and yesterday when i put it into the carboy we were at about .010-.012 and better yet, it smelled and tasted like BEER. so that was a big confidence boost for the 2 of us. so, now we wait another week or so and this IPA will be kegged and ready to rock.