Hefe Weissbier extract recipe - please help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ignition

Reaction score
Hello all,

Firstly I have searched the forum and google and found a number of similar recipes related to the topic stated below but my main questions regard a few technical difficulties or options.

This will be my second ever brew. I am a biochemist by trade but the world of beer and its terminology is all quite new. I have laboratory technique but am still learning like any other as I go along :)

I just bottled my first which was an extract Mountain Goat Steam Ale Clone (credit to Dino from YouTube). It smelt and tasted nice but originally was very cloudy - probably to do with the Wheat Dry Malt Extract (DME). I was able to clear it by cold crashing and the addition of gelatin post fermentation.

So soon I will begin a "Hefe" and again will predominantly use extracts as that is all I can cater for at this point in time. Although as it is a wheat beer the amount of Wheat DME will increase dramatically since last time.

Here is my current recipe:

TARGETS:
19 L total (~5 gal).
14 IBU
5.45% ABV
1.055 OG
1.014 FG
Calculated using brewersfriend.

HOPS:
60 min boil with 43 g Hallertau Mittelfruh pellets (3.70%).

FERMENTABLES:
3 kg BRIESS Wheat DME (~65% Wheat malt, ~35% Barly malt).

YEAST:
Either Wyeast 3068 or White Labs WLP300 (whatever is available).

+ 1 sachet of yeast nutrient.

MY QUESTIONS!

1. Because my first brew was horribly cloudy (couldn't see through the hydrometer tube) until fixed what measures should I take to prevent non-desired protein or oil aggregates/ haze?