Having trouble with 1st try at Hard Seltzer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CrysA

Reaction score
Hello!
My husband has been making beer for about 2 years and I finally decided to get in on the action! He recommended for me to contact the homebrew peeps because you are all so very helpful =)

As the title implies, this is my first attempt at making hard seltzer and it does not seem to be going well.
Firstly, we did all of the normal sanitization etc. that you do with beer equipment.
We used Distilled water, disolved the sugar, and added the mineral packet.
We switched out the yeast that came in the kit (US05) with one we thought would be aclimated to more of a broad temperature range and would bring the seltzer to a lower gravity (because, of course, this needs to be easy and efficient in addition to being less expensive than buying cases of white claw). We used EC0118 which had been stored in the refrigerator with the intention to use it for a beer batch.
After approx 5 days of adding the daily 1/2 tsp of Nutrient, the hydrometer reading had not changed. The starting gravity was 1.025. There was an offputting sharp odor when I opened the lid to do the following: We added a pack of US05 then after Limited results, we hydrated another pack of EC and after a nice oxygenation and foamy head for a day there is still no activity.
Any questions you need to ask are welcome! Your feedback and direction will be much appreciated while sipping my Raspberry Hard Seltzer =)
Thanks!