General questions about brewing "primitive" beers/etc

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lifeisafarm

Reaction score
Hi all

Total newbie really! Registered a couple of months back but since my intro post I quit my job and things were too hectic to carry on my beer projects. So, coming at this from an unusual (?) angle: I am interested in very primitive/simple/ancient brewing methods.

End goal being, to be able to cut out as much as possible in terms of machinery/gadgets or modern day luxuries like being able to buy yeast/sugar from shops. Imagine trying to brew a vaguely drinkable "beer" from one's own homestead without industrial equipment. That kind of thing.

My current idea is to try to ferment basic fruit "beer" in (unused) sauerkraut pots – the ones that have that water-seal around the top. I am not looking for a high-quality beverage here! Something vaguely drinkable is fine. It's almost more a science experiment! (Sure sure, that's what we all tell the wives...) :)

So anyway my questions are:

– I've read a lot about ancient "unhopped" beers using things like thyme, mugwort or bog myrtle instead. Does the need for herbs stem from preserving i.e. as a bittering agent? Or mainly flavour, or both? I like the idea of using ground ivy (glechoma hederacea), tastes very hoppy!

– Do you think brewing in simple clay/stone jugs or pots is even possible? What about e.g. using a heavy weight on top instead of a plastic airlock? Apparently e.g. ancient Egyptians/Sumerians tried it that way.