From grain to glass

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Fletcher21

Reaction score
So I just had to take a moment to share my fascination with all grain brewing.

I've been brewing for a few years now but only been doing all grain for the last 4 batches. I always said I would still do extract batches when time was tight or just for the heck of it.

However I am so infatuated with the ability to go grain to glass I don't know if I will ever actually do a extract batch again. I have nothing against extract. I made some dam fine beers with it . I think for me it I would just feel disconnected with the full process now.

I'm interested in the thoughts and experiences of others.

Sent from my iPhone using Home Brew

+1 Cheers

"Because life's to short to drink ****ty beer, and life's to ****ty to short yourself on beer." - A wise friend

I still make extract batches from time to time. Though mostly I find them cost prohibitive compared to all grain. Otherwise the flavors of my extract batches is easily as good as my all grain batches. I enjoy the all grain process much more now that I have used the water chemistry primer.

If you pick up an extract kit to brew at some point it will seem almost too easy to make good beer, which is not necessarily a bad thing.

All grain is wonderful because you can really make a truly unique beer and really dial in a recipe over time. You can figure out which types of base malt or specialty malts complement different styles.

Plus the idea of making beer from malted barley is just pure excitement.