First mead, is this infection?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Amansh1

Reaction score
20210917_171931.jpg
20210917_171939.jpg

Hi guys! So this is my first time ever making any type of alcohol. Primary fermentation went great for 3 weeks then tapered off. Racked to sterilized carboy and its been sitting for an additional 2 weeks. Most of the lees were left behind and now there is just a few mm of lees at the bottom. The film on top seems to form around the tiny bubbles still coming from the bottom. No funky smells. Still slightly hazy. Did I accidentally infect my mead?

I had a bit extra and threw it in a Mason jar. Its almost crystal clear. Is this a volume thing? Should I be concerned about lack of airlock activity? Pretty sure fermentation is done. Sg was 1.147 its currently 1.004. (I made the must before I knew this was a ridiculously high amount of sugar)
Thanks for any insight! I look forward to fun times.
20210917_171740.jpg

At almost 19% ABV, depending on the yeast, it's still doing things. Did you take at least a few SG readings spaced at least a couple days apart before moving the mead?

Did you mean sanitized instead of sterilized? ;) There is a difference.

What yeast did you use for the batch?

I'd plan on it aging for many months before it goes to bottle (or drinking it). I made some mead in 2010 that went to 18% and it was good at about 12-14 months from start. It got even better over the years.

I did actually take a few readings before moving. 1 week before I moved it it was 1.009. 3 days before was 1.006. Day of was 1.005. It sits now at 004.

Yes I did mean sanitized lol thank you. Using star san. Let sit in solution for 20 min then let dry. No wiping.