First brew attempt (brown ale)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MAP710

Reaction score
Hey guys. Thanks first of all for all the great information on this forum. I am a complete newb to homebrewing and this will be my first batch. I was hoping that you all could take a quick look at my recipe plan and let me know if I should make any adjustments.

I already ordered a starter kit which came with one of those canned liquid malt extracts (Black Rock Nut Brown Ale) so I'm trying to make a brew for which will be able to use that. The kit instructions say to add sugar to supplement the canned malt, but based on what I've read on this forum it's better to just add more malt.

I guess what I have in mind is a rich, full-bodied, malty brown ale with a moderately high alcohol content. I like hoppy beers, which I realize might clash with this style a bit and I also realize that the Black Rock kit will already contain hops, but I would still like to add just a bit of extra hops to help balance out the sweetness that will come from the additional hops that I will add in. I don't know -- I'm making all of this up. Please advise.

Anyway, here is what I am thinking for a 22 L batch:

Liquid Malt Extract:
1 can (1700 g) "Black Rock Nut Brown Ale" Hopped Brown Ale Extract
1 can (1500 g) "Morgans Caramalt"

Dry Malt Extract:
500 g "Muntons Medium Dry Malt Extract"

Hops:
50 g Nugget -- for adding bitterness and aroma, added during end of boil.

Yeast:
5 g of some premium ale yeast

Other:
Irish Moss -- for clarity

Questions:
1.) Does this looks okay to you guys?
2.) Is there any way for me to estimate the ABV?
3.) Should I add some honey or something to supplement?
4.) Should I add aromatic hops?
5.) Can I use my medium DME, or should I use light?

Thanks in advance!