First Attempt at an IPA Recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Omnidons-Brewing

Reaction score
Let me know what you think, this is my first attempt at an IPA recipe:

Recipe Type: All Grain
Yeast: WYeast 1217-PC (West Coast IPA) [2 Vials]
Batch Size (Gallons): 5
Boiling Time (Minutes): 90
Primary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 7days @ 68f
Secondary Fermentation (# of Days & Temp): 14days @ 68f

Mash at 154 for 60min.
American Rahr (2 row) Pale: 11.50lbs
American Briess Crystal 20 1.00lbs
American Briess Light Munich 0.75lbs
American Briess Carapils 0.75lbs
American Briess Torrified Wheat 0.25lbs

Chinook (Pellet) 1oz 30min
Cascade (Pellet) 1.5oz 30min
Nugget (Pellet) 0.5oz 15min
Cascade (Pellet) 1.5oz 15min
Nugget (Pellet) 1oz 5min
Cascade (Pellet) 2oz Dry in secondary

How does this sound to everyone? Looking for some opinions before trying it.

You might want to simplify the grist a bit and move the hops around. A lot of people (myself included) like to go with mostly base malt and little to no crystal, but others do like to add some in. You could try dropping the Carapils and just staying with the C20. 5% by weight is a good amount, but the 7% you have will work too. I would consider dropping the torrified wheat, since you're getting foam and body producing dextrins from the Crystal anyway. You're mid range mash temp will help in that regard too.

As for the hops, the calculated IBUs are over 100 and its usually best to push most additions towards the end of the boil, 15 minutes or later. You could safely load the majority of yours to 10 minutes and less with a small bittering charge to get the IBUs you want. Maybe 0.5 oz Nugget at 60 minutes, with the rest spread as late addition.