First Attempt at a Milk Stout. Need Recipe Help.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JCasey1992

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
HI guys!

Any thoughts on this recipe? It is my first attempt at a milk stout as well as my first time using Blackprinz so I'm a little unsure of myself.

Thanks for the feedback!

Cheers!
Casey

upload_2018-9-9_22-28-22.png

upload_2018-9-9_22-28-10.png

upload_2018-9-9_22-27-56.png

Attachments

• upload_2018-9-9_22-23-2.png
    upload_2018-9-9_22-23-2.png
    187.2 KB · Views: 81
  • upload_2018-9-9_22-27-51.png
    upload_2018-9-9_22-27-51.png
    187.2 KB · Views: 64
Don't know how helpful this will be, but here is a stout recipe I've made that calls for debittered black malt / blackprinz: Here

I'm not familiar with that yeast, but everything looks in the right ball park to me.

8% lactose is great.
10% roasted malts is great, and the debittered black prinze will be less harsh than all roast barley.
10% crystal is a personal preference thing. I'd cap it at around 6-8% myself but this is fine too.

I'd personally add in some unmalted adjuncts like flaked barley or flaked oats, maybe 6%, because they always work well in stouts. And I'd increase the bitterness a little, I think this is necessary to balance out the sweetness.

IMO 0.6lb of crystal 120 is too much. I would dial it back to 0.25lb and up the crystal 40 to a full lb.

Also you may want to add either flaked barley or oats at a high percentage. Flaked barley would be my preference as you tend to get a more creamy flavor at a lower % than oats one.

For the yeast you really want a high ester producing strain, it will really enhance the sweet milk chocolate qualities.