First AG in 5 years .. recipe opinions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

p4ck37p1mp

Reaction score
So I got into brewing back in 2001 when my room mate got a B3 10 gallon sculpture and learned how to do AG with a homebrew buddy of his. I inherited that setup and continued brewing for a couple more years. I had to move short notice and couldn't bring the setup (*sulk*). I started brewing again a few years back, but haven't gotten a full AG setup together until now. I got my Igloo MLT yesterday, after a trip to Home Depot and a little work I intend to brew an AG. I'm pretty sure I remember the process and I've been reading, so I think I'm ready. The recipe is a hefe, made a mini mash variant of it thats almost ready to keg. This is a 20 gallon recipe.

25lb 2 row malt
25lb white wheat malt
2lb carapils
1oz Magnum 60 min
2oz Hallertaur 5 min
3oz sweet orange 5 min
2oz seeds of paradise 5 min
1oz coriander 5 min

I'm figuring 16.25 gallons of strike water at 170 (ala BeerSmith) for a mash temp of ~167 for 60 min and then fly sparge with 6.25 gallons at 180 for 45 min. Not sure I should up the sparge to 185 to try and get a little more out of the grain bed, didn't want to push it too much. I might have to use a little more sparge water or top off the boil, as my burner takes a good 40 minutes to get to a boil. Not really sure how much I lose but I can more or less eyeball it these days, I usually end up with just about 20 gallons. In a batch this size a gallon or two doesn't really do much from what I've seen in past brews.