Filtering hops during transfer from fermenter to bottling bucket

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JonGardner

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I am only on my 5th batch of beer, strictly extract pre-made kits so far. My latest batch is nearing the end of its fermentation (2 weeks on Sunday). I have two questions.

1. I saw fermentation bubbles within a few hours. With my previous batches, this activity goes for 3-4 days, then quits. This time, I have had bubbles continue until yesterday-12 days. I'm not at all concerned because it smells awesome, but I am still learning, so want to understand why. Is it typically the character of the yeast being used that makes this difference?

2. I dry hopped as per the recipe instructions, (adding them directly to the beer) but now have a 3/4" thick krausen-like layer on top which shows no signs of flocculating. I haven't had to deal with this before. How do I make the transfer from my fermenter (Fermonster wide mouth 6.5 gal.) to my bottling bucket (basic 5 gal. bucket with spigot) without getting a ton of unwanted material with it? Other info: Temperatures have fluctuated some, but remained within the recommended range for the yeast. The beer is very murky and the trub on the bottom is much less than in previous brews. Also, I used 1/2 tab of Whirlfloc 5 min. before flameout, plus added a vial of ClarityFerm to reduce gluten.

Opinions I was given here are that yes, it's normal to have that bubbling last sometimes.

Is this the first brew you dry hopped?