fermentation question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rickyspalding

Reaction score
I just started brewing and didn't think I would screw up on the first attempt but I did! I had a MR. Beer Kit (2 gallons) and did the kit in my carboy. 36 hours later I noticed bubbles were very very slow at this point. Then I realized I actually had calculated that i needed to add 3 quarts of water at the end of the process I actually added 3 gallons.... I went to the LHB store and was thinking of adding "things" to keep it going. The guy working there said I could just let it go and it would be fine, I said I am stubborn and would like to add to it, if this can help fix it. I was doing the American Hop Devil, and the guy recommended, I can't remember exactly what it was called but to add 3 pounds of some type of light malt with one gallon of water and that would do the trick, I also added another packet of cascade hops. So now its a batch of about 5.5 gallons Now this was just to preface everybody if any of that information helps where I am going with this. In two days it will be two weeks since I added the additional malts and hops. Since I am a noob I am a little paranoid on the fermentation bubbling. It passed its anaerobic fermentation (for a second time), and started to slow. It had been around 68 to 70 degrees. Now with the last few days I figured the "bubbling" would slow more, but instead of 60 seconds or more between bubbles, I have seen in the last couple days go from 45 seconds, to 30 seconds and today to about 15 seconds, the temp has been just under 68 to 66 degrees now. I understand the lock is not an indicator of fermentation but a preventer of bad bacteria but this seems all wrong. If in two days its still acting like this what should I do? Just bottl