Fermentation/flavor questions?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zbay

Reaction score
Hi,
Well i'm a total newbee but attempting my first batch of mead as we speek. I wish I would have done a little more research before I started on this journey, however, I guess a trial by fire is sometimes the best way to get started. So here goes my laundry list of question for you guys. Due to some advice from a friend I didn't put any yeast energizzer, or nuetrients into my must. Is this going to be a problem? I have not taken a hydrometer reading yet but I do have signs of airlock activitiy at the rate of a big bubble ever 7 sec or so. We are a little over 24 hours after putting it into the fermetator so I guess this is good. When mead is at its peak fermentation rate how many bubbles should be coming out of the airlock? I did a basic mead recipe and was wondering if I could add a flavor to it even though it has been going for a little over 24 hours now. I was thinking about doing this when transfered to the carboy, or is that totally the wrong time to do such a thing? Well any advice on making this batch of mead turn out better would be great.
Thanks,
Zbay

I did a 4 gallons of water, with 15 pounds of honey and used 2 yellow redstar packs of yeast.

Thors Teeth! Now that's mead! If you're getting activity, you should be fine, just be prepared for a very long ageing period. Your recipe is going to turn out an extreamly sweet mead. Possibly too sweet to be drinkable. IIRC Redstar baking yeast doesn't handle alcohol all to well, so you're probably looking at about 6% - 8% ABV. If it's too sweet, consider increasing your water and allowing the mead to age for a longer period.