Extremely Astringent BIAB IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

valkommen

Reaction score
Hi guys. I'm fairly new to home brewing, but have done a few 5 gallon extract batches. All were extract kits from northern brewer, fermented at room temp of ~70 F. They all turned out pretty decent. I recently wanted to try making the switch to all-grain by trying a couple 1 gallon BIAB IPAs. The recipe for both brews was

2.3 lb pale 2-row
0.1 lb munich 10L
0.1 lb crystal 120L
0.2 oz centennial (9% AA) @60
0.2 oz centennial @20
0.2 oz centennial @5
0.2 oz dry hop for 3 days
75% efficiency

For both brews I mashed in 1 gallon of water for 60 minutes, and sparged with 1 gallon (initial temp of 175 F) for 5 minutes. In both mash cases, the temp fell to low 140s when I added the grain because the strike water wasn't hot enough, so I had to turn the electric burner up on the stove to bring the temp up to low 150s several times over the 60 minutes.

Everything else went according to plan over the boil. In both cases I pitched half a packet of rehydrated dry yeast (about 5 grams), and fermented at room temperature of ~70 F. The two batches were left to ferment for about 12 days. During bottling, the bottling wand got clogged after the first couple of bottles, so I filled directly from the bottling bucket spigot into the remaining ones.

It's been a week since bottling, and I tried one from each batch. It turns out they're both *extremely* bitter and astringent. Like undrinkably astringent. Weirdly enough, though, the beer smelled good during bottling and actually tasted pretty good from the little bit that I tried at that time.