enough remaining yeast for carbonatation in bottles

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cristal

Reaction score
First of all thank you very much for your contributions!. I have little experience in home brewing, I have brewed 5 batches of 30 L and I am very happy because our beer it is really very good.

Right now I am dealing with two batches (30 L each) of a lager beer according to a Pilsner style. One batch is under second fermentation during three weeks, measured OG from today 1013, beer is very clear and I taste very good, it is dry and not sweet at all.

Second batch is in its 6th day of primary fermentation.

In both cases : Fermentis® Saflager W-34/70 dry yeast

1st. question (secondary fermentation), after this period of lagering how do I assure that the remaining yeast is enough for subsequent carbonatation in bottles. It could be a reason for a pour carbonatation after 3-4 weeks in bottles?. Is there any test or trick used in homebrewing to control the remaining yeast in the beer?. Shall I try Krausen addition using some of the young beer I have in primary (same receipt, same yeast)?

2. nd question (primary fermentation). According to many of yours opinions, the primary fermentation for tree-four weeks works very well without any need for secondary. In such a case, shall I proceed in the same way as with secondary fermentation, lowering temperature to 3-4 C after reaching target OG and letting for additional 3-4 weeks for laguering?.

Primary: laguer/ Pilsener
Secondary: laguer/ Pilsener
Bottled: IPA

Your beer contains billions and billions of yeast cells. Highly unlikely you would need to worry about carbonation.