Does vorlauf give clear worts?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

abrewhal

Reaction score
I have been running into issues of having really muddy wort since I started brewing biab, I been thinking about giving my grain a good vorlauf after mashing by pouring out of kettle onto a secondary container through the grain

Do you think that will give me clearer wort?

Some of that crap is probably good for your yeast, and it all settles out leaving clear beer. But I do think I leave a lot more beer behind in the fermenter because the flour doesn't always compress and compact down. (especially when I use literal flour in my grist) I also sometimes end up with more sediment in my bottles. None of this hurts the quality of the beer.

Vorlauf does help make for clearer wort. It may not even be a normal step in BIAB, but in three vessel rig with fly sparging, I always do it to clear up wort and get mash bed primed for sparge. This results in little or no grist getting out of mash tun and into pump and torpedo screen in BK during sparge.

As to whether clear wort is necessary for good, clear beer, probably not, but in my opinion it helps make traditionally clear styles more to my liking, possibly resulting from less protien or something in the fermentor. Most likely less difference in heavier bodied beers, or hazy types.

Edit; Does not pertain to clear worts, but another reason to vorlauf, or recirculate, is to equalize temperature in mash for better conversion. Again something that might not apply to most BIAB rigs, as there is usually a smaller vessel and volume of mash involved.

Last edited:
BIAB since 2016. There is no reason you can't make a clear beer. Yeast choice. Whirfloc or Irish moss in the boil. Whirlpool and allow to settle after chilling.