DIY How To: "Wallace" Weldless Brew Stand (IN PROGRESS)

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cohen_fetters

Reaction score
Disclaimer:I did not come up with the idea of Wallace I am simply just writing up a DIY of my build which was based off Sam Scotts Wallace.

Also this is a work in progress. Come back for updates

I am fairly new to home brewing with only a few extract batches under my belt (and barely drinkable) and have been wanting to get into All Grain brewing for sometime. I have been looking around the past few days at commercial brew stands and trees and just can't fork over the $600 even for a gravity system at this point in time with out my wife KILLING me!!!

One day I stumbled across Señor Wallace while trying to gather ideas for what i wanted to build since it was way cheaper and I could customize it to my liking. Another thing holding me back was I don't have a welder or for that matter know how to weld. And lets face it I could use that extra money on more equipment!!!

So I studied Sams build and made my way to Lowes to pick up stuff to build my very own "Wallace" for a fraction of the cost of a commercial stand.

My dimensions right now are 54 1/4'' by 23 1/2" by 16 1/4"

Supplies:

Zinc Plated Angle Iron
  • (2) 1-1/2" X 1-1/2" X 6ft $15 each
  • (6) 2-1/4" X 1-1/2" X 6ft $21 each

Hardware
  • (2) boxes 5/16"x 3/4" bolts
  • plenty off washers
  • (2) boxes of 5/16'' nuts

Tools
  • Hack Saw (PITA and not very precise)
  • 1/2" wrench and socket
  • Tape measure
  • Workbench and clamps
  • Sharpie
  • BEER BEER BEER

1. I measured 54" on 2 1/4" irons and cut 2 16" pieces for my sides. I did this for both top and the bottom.

For the bottom I but the larger side out.