Din Rail GFCI?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jeeppilot

Reaction score
I’m putting together (what as of now) is a 30A 240V single element BIAB panel and I stumbled upon this DIN Rail GFCI breaker.

https://www.homedepot.com/p/ASI-32-...er-DIN-Rail-Mount-NDB1L-32C-32-240V/307346213

I couldn’t find any discussion of this specifically in lieu of a spa panel or main panel GFCI. Has anyone used one? It’s substantially less expensive than most GFCI breakers, mounts nicely with my DIN contactors, and if I can just put a regular 30 breaker in the panel and forgo the spa panel entirely using this, I’d love to.

It says it’s 1- pole, which I’m confused with since it’s rated for 240V. Then again, I’m pretty new to this stuff. It’s also 30mA trip point which I understand is slightly out of US standards?

A one pole breaker is designed for European single phase 240V, not USA/Canada split phase 240V. 240V split phase requires a two pole breaker. And no, you cannot gang to single phase GFCI's together to handle split phase.

Brew on :mug:

A one pole breaker is designed for European single phase 240V, not USA/Canada split phase 240V. 240V split phase requires a two pole breaker. And no, you cannot gang to single phase GFCI's together to handle split phase.

Ah well that makes total sense for Home Depot to be selling a device only usable in Europe. [emoji849] So why do I see nobody using an American version of these in their panels? I can’t imagine they aren’t available for USA electrical standards.

I don't know of anyone who makes a DIN Rail mount, double pole GFCI breaker.

Personally, I don't like using a separate spa panel; I use a 30 amp GFCI breaker in the main panel