Differences in yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am new to brewing..please help me understand the differences in yeast...for example why use lavlin ec118vs Montrachet....or white labs California ale vs. white labs British ale....when is it ok to substitute?
I just ordered a bunch of extract kits and many of them are pilsners...I am going to start harvesting yeast and saving them so I don't have to keep spending $7 on yeast..however I don't have space for tons of small jars in the fridge....is there a general chart explaining the differences in yeast and why one perticular style is used for a kind of beer...

Right now I just buy what the kit tells me...usually white labs cause it's a nice small vile for my fridge....but I would love to learn more about yeast in general..
Thanks in advance!

This chart has some brief descriptions of many of the common strains available. Btw, "esters" generally refers to fruit and spice notes. Different yeast strains will express different levels and different types of esters. The banana and clove flavors of hefeweizens come from esters produced by the yeast. Ester production is greater at higher fermentation temperatures.

You can also go to the manufacturers' web pages and read their descriptions; most online retailers will offer descriptions; and most brewing software will have descriptions.

This chart shows the source breweries for many strains and reveals that many strains are available from more than one yeast producer. E.g., White Labs 001 and Wyeast 1056 - also Danstar US05, Btw, though it's not in this chart - both come from Sierra Nevada brewery (it's colloquially referred to as the Chico strain).