Did I Eff up my Batch?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewchick3

Reaction score
My house always gets cold and I keep a heating pad under the bucket and put it on low when I see the temp dropping below 65 just to raise it bit. I knew one day I would do what I did today and forget to turn it off. So I get home and my temp is around 78. Did I completely lose my batch? Its back down but I'm nervous.

My house always gets cold and I keep a heating pad under the bucket and put it on low when I see the temp dropping below 65 just to raise it bit. I knew one day I would do what I did today and forget to turn it off. So I get home and my temp is around 78. Did I completely lose my batch? Its back down but I'm nervous.

I'm new to brewing so I can't say with any certainty.... but from everything I've read here, my best guess would be NO..... you didn't ruin it. Just carry on and it should be fine.

On another note.... you can buy a cheap ($7.00) timer that you plug the heating pad into and set the off time. So that way at the time you turn on the heating pad.... estimate the time you want it to go off and set it. That way you don't have to remember. You can pick up these cheap timers at Wal-Mart in the section where they keep the light bulbs....I have a few for various things and they work great :mug:

You should be fine. YOu might have some off flavors, but it will still be beer at the end. HOw far along was it in primary fermentation?