Could the CO2 used cause off flavors in kegged beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cl330b

Reaction score
I'm curious to know people's opinions...

Could the CO2 used to force carb potentially cause off flavors? If you get your tank fills at a fire hydrant supply shop, welding shop or any other place, could the "quality" of the gas change the flavor of the brew? I am new to kegging and I am currently searching for a CO2 vendor. I am curious to know what some of the gurus opinions on this matter are. Thanks!

cl330b said:
I'm curious to know people's opinions...

Could the CO2 used to force carb potentially cause off flavors? If you get your tank fills at a fire hydrant supply shop, welding shop or any other place, could the "quality" of the gas change the flavor of the brew? I am new to kegging and I am currently searching for a CO2 vendor. I am curious to know what some of the gurus opinions on this matter are. Thanks!

As an avid SCUBA diver, I know that air fills from different shops can taste different for many reasons, like how far the air intake is from the exhaust output on the compressor and so on. This is what I am basing my curiosity on.

CO2 is usually tanked, like propane, and pumped into the bottles in a similar method. I suppose that if the fill shop used some kind of lubricant somewhere where it could come in contact with the gas it could have an odor or impart a taste to the beer.

I too have noticed that some shops air fills taste different. A shop in Grand Cayman's air tasted like automotive exhaust!! :eek: Second tank on a two tank dive, and I exchanged it for another one on the boat. The dive master and I traded tanks. He didn't seem to mind the taste, but it was obvious.