Competition recipes...do you copy and tweak from here?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

01Ryan10

Reaction score
When brewing a beer for competition, do you take a recipe from here and submit? Do you tweak it a little to "make it your own?"

I'm not sure of the etiquette, since I just started brewing, but I'm assuming the approach of plagiarism if you copy a recipe from the internet and submit it as your own even if you have some minor tweaks.

The only thing I can think of that would make it OK to submit a copied recipe is that a huge part in the quality and taste of the beer is the process of making it. Two people can make the same exact recipe with much greater differences.

What say you all?

I don't know how many truly original recipes are out there. I suspect most of the ones in the database here are just tweaks of something else. You say "submit it as your own" but unless a competition explicitly says so, I don't think there's any rule about using only your own recipe.

You can buy a beer kit, brew it, and submit it. People do this often. I wouldn't have a problem with doing the same with a recipe, except that (a) I would find it more personally satisfying to add my own touches and (b) I would admit to it, maybe just by posting a reply that you brewed this for a comp and scored well.

If it were something like Sam Adams' Longshot competition, then I would only use my own recipe.

Unless it is a clone recipe, I tend to take a recipe an tweak it to my liking. You do pose a good assessment that processes involved will create a different beer. Temperature, yeast quantity, and even the water contents will create differences.